Join our community call: Challenges for sustaining a healthy and robust information ecosystem in Latin America and the Caribbean

Barbara Paes

Español

A few weeks ago, we shared that we’re starting a new project aimed at contributing to a healthy and robust information ecosystem in Latin America and the Caribbean, supported by the Latin America Program at Open Society Foundations. 

To kick off this project, we’re hosting a community call on October 26 to talk about the challenges civil society is facing in the information ecosystem in Latin America and the opportunities we see for action. This will be the first of a series of calls that we’ll host throughout this project (so keep an eye on our blog to learn about upcoming events!). 

We’ll be joined by speakers Nathaly Espitia (Internews) and Maria Juliana (Universidad Icesi, Cali. Colombia) from Colectivo Noís Radio, Júlia Rocha from Artigo 19, and Ramiro Alvarez Ugarte from CELE, who will be sharing learnings and insights about their work in the region. 

Join our conversation

We would love for digital rights activists, internet movement builders, civic technologists, data protection experts, transparency activists, human rights defenders, philanthropic institutions, tech developers, and academics from Latin America and the Caribbean who are interested in sharing their perspectives and ideas with us.

Our community call is happening on Thursday, October 26, 2023 starting at 9am Mexico City, 10am Bogotá, 11am Port-au-Prince, 12pm Santiago. Register to join here. Note: This event will be held in Spanish.


If you’re unable to attend but would still like to talk to us about this project, feel free to reach out to barbara@theengineroom.org.

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.